A Polish Renaissance
240 pages, 15.6 x 22.2 cm , 644 g.
A Polish Renaissance
Was €12.95 €6.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Polish music has flowered in the twentieth century. Yet the four Poles whose story is told here -- Andrzej Panufnik (1914-91), Witold Lutoslawski (1913-94), Ktzystof Penderecki (b.1933), and Henryk Gorecki (b.1933) -- are noted for their development of radically differing creative approaches, in spite of a common national background.

Against the varied canvas of musical styles practised in the latter half of the twentieth century -- including, on the one hand, serialism and its intellectual spin-offs, and on the other, the use of chance procedures, the 'new simplicity', and minimalism -- the author dramatizes the position of these four composers, showing how each transcends the musical movements with which they are habitually linked. Their compositional techniques are illuminated by a consideration of their lives and careers, which have so powerfully contributed to the phenomenon of rebirth in modern Polish music.
Author(s)Bernard Jacobson
Article IDart-31789


Other books with these keywords:

€49.90 €14.95  
€39.80 €9.95  
(English edition)
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
The Terezín Music Critiwues of Viktor Ullmann
€55.00 €19.95  
€250.00 €35.00  
Not Everyone Will Be Taken Into The Future
€35.00 €15.00  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
Facsimile of El Lissitzky's Edition of 1919
€25.00 €9.95